2022 in review

I do love lists and statistics, so i always keep stats on my perfume wear each year. My taste changes a bit each year, new perfume loves appear, others fall out of favor. I did not buy many new bottles in 2022, i think there have been no more than five plus some decants, because i now want to enjoy my collection more and not hunt for the next „new“ (or old and discontinued gem).

The winner was Aromatics Elixir with 18 wears, followed by Sens &Bois with 16 wears. Roma and Scherrer EdT got 15x skin time and even Perles de Lalique got worn 10times. Also worn more than 5x were Eau de Rochas, Givenchy III, Agent Provocateur, Cleef and Arpels First EdT, Meet Me On The Corner and Mitsouko EdT. I feel a strong chypre theme still going on here 😉

I also got a lot of books and audiobooks finished, because i spent a lot of time driving or biking to work, which makes a lot of listening possible for audiobooks. Some of it was „easy listening“ like Harry Potter or a lot of crime stories from Tess Gerritsen or Linda Castillo. But i had a lot of fun with Matt Ruffs Lovecraft Country. I also read Maggie O ´Farrells This must be the place, that i liked a lot for all the interesting feelings linking the protagonists. I also liked Matt Haigs Midnight Library, although it was a bit foreseeable. I found a interesting and funny book from a japanese female author with the title „Butter“, a mixture between a crime story, emancipation story and japanese womens rights. I can really recommend it!

We spent five days on a bike tour along the five rivers between Nuremberg and Regensburg and had a lot of fun plus a good deal of physical activity. A good way to be allowed to eat as much as you like! The second holidays were spent in the South of France near Narbonne, where we mostly relaxed, cooked, drank wine and went on some nice walks. Maybe we will return there next year!

I spent some time at the sewing table and made a few dresses. I also rediscovered knitting, which i never really quit, but mostly only made socks. But that year i also made a 40s jumper, nearly finished another 40s cardigan and i am now knitting a cardigan for the boyfriend at the moment. Must hurry up to finish before it is spring!

Leave a comment